Date: 12/02/2024

Six port clusters to be developed as Mega Ports

Six port clusters, of which four are Cochin-Vizhinjam Port cluster, Galathea South Bay Port, Chennai-Kamarajar-Cuddalore Port cluster, Paradip and Non-Major Ports cluster with capacity of more than 300 
Million Tonnes Per Annum (MTPA), and two port clusters i.e. Deendayal and Tuna Tekra Port cluster, Jawaharlal Nehru-Vadhavan Port cluster with capacity of more than 500 MTPA are to be developed as Mega Ports by the year 2047.
The activities to be undertaken by Major Ports for augmentation of capacity and improving infrastructure are included in the Maritime Amrit Kaal Vision, 2047. Works for infrastructure enhancement and capacity augmentation in the Major Ports are already under progress through Public Private Partnership (PPP) mode and also through internal resources.
This information was given by the Union Minister for Ports, Shipping and Waterways, Mr Sarbananda Sonowal, in a written reply to the Lok Sabha.
Source: Exim News Service: New Delhi, Feb. 11